Week 3: Social Photography

When Glenn told us that we were going to post on our Instagram page for this activity, I was still in my seat.  I have had an Instagram account for several years now but failed to really post anything because I always felt a sense of embarrassment when I did not have enough “likes”.

IMG_20150910_191419

But as it got closer to Thursday that week, I started to think, “Why am I uneasy about it when, in the end, it is an assignment and maybe I will grow some courage to post more?”  It might seem silly that I was scared for this assignment but I have always been really aware of social media and self conscious about posting because I am quite shy.

When I posted my first photo, I was constantly checking my notifications and seeing if people actually like it or they just scrolled right past it.  After my second post, I was starting to enjoy taking, editing, and posting pictures.  By the end of the day, I was so proud of myself for posting the pictures and not caring whether I had a ton of “likes” or not.

Reflecting back, I think that this activity was a great way to take the time and appreciate the little things in your day like having a snack and conversation with someone you care about or looking at the beautiful art in the galleries on campus.  It was a great start to Art 110 because I feel more confident in the way that I use different platforms of social media after this project because it brings a person out of their shell in a way.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Leave a Reply

